Still Want to Win Your Heart

I wrote this song today. Here’s the lyrics…. this is actually very closely related to my previous post. The thing is, this is a very, very personal entry written about a very particular thing. I’m not usually quite this open, this quickly, but I wanted to go ahead and post.

Still Want to Win Your Heart

______________________

I took too long
Like play in melted snow
And I’m painfully aware
Of things you don’t know

I was crazy about you then
I  love you more right now
I know it can’t be
But I’m going to figure out how

Oh, I still want to win your heart
Oh, I still want to win your heart
I want to win your love
I want to be your man
I want to be the one who always understands
Oh, I still want to win your heart.

I know it may seem strange
That I would write a song
I know it won’t make up
For me taking so long

But my heart longs for you
I think you ache for it too
I might not have much to offer
But with this you’ll see right through

Oh I still want to win your heart
Oh I still want to win your heart
I want to win your love
I want to be your man
I want to be the one who always understands
Oh, I still want to win your heart.

Missouri loves company
So Virginia called Louis
Only to learn that brotherly love had gotten in the way

A day late
A week late
A month late
A year late
Still my friend
But..

I still want to win your heart.
Oh, I still want to win your heart
I want to win your love
I want to be your man
I want to be the one who always understands
Oh, I still want to win your heart.

Oh, I still want to win your heart.
Oh, I still want to win your heart
I want to win your love
I want to be your man
I want to be the one who always understands
Oh, I still want to win your heart.

(c) 2009, Joshua S. Murray

Leave a Reply

