I kinda feel like ranting…

But I’m not sure if I am in a position to do so. So, instead of a rant, I’m just going to see where the flow goes… wait, is that the same as ranting?

See… I get on some blogosphere and read politics, politics and more politics. I get it almost everyday when I’m back at my school… okay, my school is Liberty University, founded by Jerry Falwell, so that’s to be expected…. I know, I know. Truth is, it’s actually not what you might think… as a school, they would encourage you to form your own opinions far more than most secular schools. Most of the faculty is pretty conservative, but that’s not a requirement. In fact, I’d say I’m much more open minded now than I ever was… funny how I’ve bought books dissenting from the Religious Right and such right on campus.

A while back I made a post about my frustrations with the polarization in Christian circles. I don’t agree with the Religious Right on some things… mostly because the only issues they push tend to be limited.

Now, I am pro-life… I will say that. I don’t think a young lady who has just had an abortion needs to be harrassed and criminalized. There needs to be an efficient system to allow for more adoptions. Many people would love to adopt, but they can’t afford the process. Should abortion be illegal? Yes, I think it should be. But really… there has to be more than condemnation offered to the woman who’s just made one of the most difficult decisions she could ever make.

I don’t support gay marriage…. I said before that I’m not terrified of it. It’s probably never going to affect me personally. The way I see it, marriage is a covenant between a man and a woman… usually under authority of government, but even back to ancient Roman times, marriage is more than a legal agreement. In ancient Roman society, Roman citizens were legally able to marry non-citizens… they did anyway… the spouse just didn’t have the same protections that a citizen would have. These were illegitimate marriages in the eyes of the government, but were still every bit a marriage. My point is actually from the reverse…. legal recognition is not the deciding factor for legitimacy. If the government sees gay marriage as legitimate, okay… so they do. It doesn’t really hurt me or my beliefs. I don’t agree with it, and I’ll say so…. but really… my faith isn’t about making everyone who doesn’t believe like I do act like me. If someone doesn’t share my faith, I don’t expect them to have the same convictions as me…. they can’t. That applies to so much more than this of course.

Regarding those above issues… I’d prefer that they be decided at the state level rather than national.

Anyway.

War is hell.

Yeah…. it is. No denying. But really…. it’s amazing how jerkish so many people get over the issue. Most arguments resort to ad hominems and other logical fallacies. Then I read stuff like “Who would Jesus bomb?” It’s more than an overly-emotional featured blogpost on xanga…. actually it stems from a movement founded by Shane Claiborne (see Irresistable Revolution) and company. Jesus probably wouldn’t bomb anyone…. He wouldn’t be a politician in a democracy. He’d speak up for treating people with equality. He’d say that the governments that are in place are there because there’s a plan in place. He’d say that we should help the poor and the homeless…. but guess what….

People wouldn’t listen if Jesus was here right now. They didn’t then. They wouldn’t now.

My faith is not political. I care about politics because I’m a citizen of the U.S. and the world. That said, if we can influence our nation to care about people…. how wonderful would that be?

My worldview isn’t really US-centric. I’m fascinated by foreign cultures. I’ve studied culture a lot. It’s really a beautiful thing to see our differences and appreciate them. May I recommend a book? Beyond Culture… by Edward T. Hall…. it will open your eyes. I am not the world. You are not either. We are.

So, I guess I  am ranting anway.

Ah well.

Why can’t I have a presidential candidate I like?

Ah well. At least we can still voice our opinions here… unlike in some places. The right to dissent is a beautiful thing…. especially when you’re reading 1984.

Food for thought: No form of government is more uniting of its people than monarchy… especially a benevolent monarchy. King Cyrus of ancient Persia is still my favorite world leader of all time.

Now, I’m going to go write some free verse or maybe I’ll read… or continue to enjoy The Duhks… sweet tunes.

Excuse my ADD exhibited above.

Leave a Reply

